Home > Process and technique, Uncategorized > Post-project blues anyone?

Post-project blues anyone?

This is more a Livejournal-style diary entry than anything else: I don’t know whether anyone else gets post-project blues but it’s something I seem to suffer from.

Hit the ‘send’ button late last night on a  project that ended up being 64K words, and today I’ve been useless. I have another project that’s running late and by rights I should have been all over it today, but instead did a bit of editing that should have taken an hour and ended up taking about six. After that, batted about wondering what to do with myself (Trendhunter.com is a wonderful timewaster!).

An evening of my partner’s homemade blackberry wine helped, with a varied soundtrack: Prince, Jace Everett, Angelspit, Dengue Fever… I’ll be on it again tomorrow. Memo to self: after finishing a big project, allow a day to decompress and readjust head! There’s a New Age thing about giving yourself time to celebrate your successes, and actually I think there’s a lot in it. (The wine by the way came from blackberries picked last autumn, matured over the winter and we drunk the first bottle at Christmas – I’d recommend it highly; unfortunately that was the last bottle of the batch!)

  1. February 20, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    Hi Jon, there is an award waiting for you at my blog.

  2. February 20, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    So there is – cool, thank you! I don’t really think of myself as a ‘prolific’ blogger, I just say things when they seem to be worth saying and comment on other people’s blogs when I have something positive I think I can bring to the party, as it were.
    Right now I’m still kind of prevaricating, free-associating a rant about the cultural significance of horror. Not yet sure if it’s going to be a blog entry, an article or a story (or possibly all the above). Depends how it goes, how I end up shaping it. It may take a while to finish though because I really ought to be thinking about writing something I’ll get paid for, i.e. the training course on career development strategies that’s supposed to be finished by about now…

  3. February 21, 2010 at 12:26 am

    I think most writers experience post-project blues. It doesn’t have to be something you suffer with though. It’s a time to reflect on what you’ve achieved, to get on with those little things you’ve put off for the project, and soon you’ll be giddy over your next project.

  4. February 21, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    I don’t get post-project blues, just relief! But I’ve never sent off anything longer than 5000 words before. I suppose you’ve spent a lot more time with a project of 64000 words and it will be harder to let it go.
    Please do post on the cultural significance of horror. I’m interested in hearing your thoughts/rant on the matter.

    • February 22, 2010 at 12:08 am

      Will do! Probably sometime next week though.

  5. February 22, 2010 at 1:27 am

    I slowed down my writing when I’ve come to the end of a project, no wanting to let go. But Sharon is right, it can be a very positive experience.

  6. February 22, 2010 at 2:26 am

    What I was trying to do was put down a reminder to myself that completing a project is something worth celebrating, not something to feel down about. One of the things about writing is that it’s often solitary when you’re doing it, and I always have the feeling that once a project is finished I may not see it in print for say 6-9 months, or in the case of training material for a commercial client, may not see it again, ever. I guess that sense of ‘letting something go’ and feeling that the ‘final’ product in terms of print is still an age away is part of the blues thing. It’s a case of accepting that, celebrating that it’s done anyway, and feeling that I now have time to get on with life/other projects that will be equally engaging and interesting, as Sharon says.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

