Home > fiction, horror, science fiction > New story out

New story out

Story of mine is finally out in Dark Fire Issue 44, which is an online SF/horror magazine – or as they put it, ‘spooky tales to stun, amaze, entertain and send shivers down your spine’. A direct link to my piece is here.

I’m obviously slacking because checking my files it looks like I only have another four out on submission at the moment… on the other hand I’ve been kind of busy working on stuff that pays actual money!

  1. dawncallison
    March 9, 2010 at 8:18 am

    I hope you don’t think I’m stalking you. It’s just spring break and I get bored. Anyhow, congratulations on your story. I checked it out, and it’s a killer piece. You should have gotten paid for it. ;p

    • March 9, 2010 at 10:51 am

      Thank you! I’m pleased you liked it.
      Maybe I will get paid for it sometime in the future – it could always get anthologized or used elsewhere after the first publication rights expire. Sometimes you have to give stuff away in the short term to get a return in the long term.

  2. March 11, 2010 at 1:38 am

    Good news, Jon!
    I am far behind…I haven’t had anything out on submission in ages. Keeping them constant like you do is excellent.

  3. March 11, 2010 at 2:31 am

    Thank you! Though some of my stories out to magazines at the moment have been out since last July – I’m not all that prolific! I do understand that some magazines don’t even read stuff until they’re ready to consider a new issue, which may only be every 6 months, and response times of up to a year are relatively common. As it happens, Dark Fire responded within 3 or 4 days, which was extremely good.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

