Home > Uncategorized > What I did on my holidays

What I did on my holidays

I’d hoped to finish a biggish project (revision/updating of some teaching materials) before the weekend, but hopefully it’s all done now.

Meanwhile, I had a long weekend – which is about as much holiday as I ever get these days – to decompress after quite a while of being plugged in to a computer 28 hours a day, 9 days a week until there was blood all over the keyboard.

We went to Yorkshire, camping with friends on Lime Tree Farm – this is a private site, not now a farm so much as a conservation project managed with the help of various communities including pagan friends of mine. Some of the people there this weekend had been involved, about 12-15 years ago I think, in building one of the few contemporary stone circles. I only had my mobile phone with me so quality’s not great, but here’s a picture:

Contemporary stone circle

Contemporary stone circle (the 'Crow Circle') at Lime Tree Farm, Yorkshire

Also on the site is a roundhouse:

Roundhouse, Lime Tree Farm, Yorkshire

Roundhouse, Lime Tree Farm, Yorkshire

Thatched circular hut

Roundhouse, Lime Tree Farm, Yorkshire

Animal skull over entrance of roundhouse

Animal skull over entrance of roundhouse

Basically I did not a lot during the days – reading, cooking, chatting – and at night we sat round a fire. I did a bit of drumming. It’s also a badly-kept secret I’m something of a firebug, and I did this:

Playing with fire

That's me in the middle

This one isn’t my pic – it’s courtesy of Chris Cafferkey.

Anyway – three and a bit days of break, and now I’ve caught up with myself and some old friends and taken some time out to relax and recharge, it’s back to my bad old ways. Unless being at Lime Tree counts as going back to my bad old ways, of course….

  1. July 13, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    Pagan weekends are also intended to help you find better ways of doing stuff – not just a break from a an unhealthy routine! But I’m glad you enjoyed it as much as I did.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

