Home > Uncategorized > Status update type post

Status update type post

Awkward couple of days. ISP went down on me. In fact it still is down, because the fault is apparently in some hardware on their network, located in a telephone exchange somewhere. Successive estimates for getting it fixed were 5pm yesterday, 10am today, 6pm today, and ‘soon’.

So for the moment I’m using a newly-purchased mobile dongle. It’s a useful bit of kit for the moment, though it also means  in future I’ll be able to work and post from anywhere, which seems like an intrinsically Good Thing. Quite why it’s called a ‘dongle’ – which seems a quite random name – is beyond me, but never mind.

Having bought the dongle I bent down very slightly to put the key in the van door. Shooting sciatica type pain; me, not the van. The van gets moody sometimes but it’s not prone to sciatica as far as I know. I’m not particularly prone to back pain either – odd bouts of it when I worked in an office, I think due to their super-cheap office chairs – and this is the worst I’ve had for probably a decade.

It was interesting, yesterday, trying to write on a laptop balanced on my chest while lying flat on my back on the floor. I managed about 600 words though!

I’ve recovered to the point of being able to sit at my desk for about 10 minutes at a time. And my 10 minutes is about up, so that’s all folks… I’ve been trying to put together some more substantial posts but they’ll have to wait until both back and internet are restored to functionality, hopefully tomorrow.

 

  1. J Vagg
    December 19, 2010 at 11:12 am

    Hope your back and ISP get better ASAP – your cousin (also J Vagg)

  2. December 19, 2010 at 11:26 am

    Hi Jeff – yes, thanks, both are better now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

