Home > cultural commentary, poetry > Hearing Voices this evening

Hearing Voices this evening

No, I’m not mad. No, it wasn’t really my thing. But neither of these opinions is important.

What is important is that on a rainy Monday evening in January, without very much in the way of publicity, it was possible to get 70-80 people to a pub in Leicester to attend a poetry event. I only found out about it a couple of hours before it happened – the event was Hearing Voices and here’s the Facebook notification I got. There’s almost nothing about it on the web yet (pages still being developed) but the overall one-year project is for three issues of a magazine, of which the first is now out (at least I think it was the first, in which case their stated timetable appears to have slipped?). Hence the event which was a kind of launch party.

The event included scheduled poetry readings, some open-mic poetry and a few short stories though poetry dominated the event.

Two quick thoughts.

First, massive congratulations to the organisers, the not-for-profit group Crystal Clear Creators, on a really successful event.

Second, given the evident popularity of poetry and the fact I’m struggling away writing horror and SF and ‘urban’ and ‘alternative’ stories, I’m obviously in the wrong game. I shall have to study this poetry thing more carefully!

  1. January 11, 2011 at 9:03 am

    sounds fantastic. This time of year to be able to get anyone along to anything is nearly impossible.
    Regarding hearing voices. I was at a festival a few years back, wandering round talking to people. I kept hearing a voice, which no-one else could hear. It took me a while to realise that it wasn’t one of my character-alter egos, but my phone attached to my belt. Even though my keypad lock was on, it had managed to call the Emergency switchboard 999. OOPS! at least I wasn’t going mad…..well….I wasn’t then.

  2. January 11, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    Yes, some phones have a keypad lock that still allows you to call 999, I think a lot of people have experienced that problem!

    Quite a few years ago when my sons were young, I was working late and thought I heard voices – strange tinny voices at the edge of hearing. A bit later, I heard a mechanical whirring sound. Thought I really had lost the plot and started hallucinating. And then my sons’ radio controlled cars suddenly zoomed across the room. Turned out they hadn’t switched them off before going to bed and they were being activated by a taxi radio transmission outside.

  3. January 12, 2011 at 11:42 am

    lol, brilliant…bet some people would have blamed poltergheists

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

