Home > cultural commentary, humor > I saw two murders today

I saw two murders today

Or maybe it was the same murder, twice. About a hundred crows swooping across the road when we were driving somewhere. The same again on the way back by a different route. Any offers on the mythology concerning omens and crows? I could go and look it up in my copy of the Golden Bough, but right now it would be more sensible to go to bed.

I’ve discovered a new form of strenuous exercise. It’s called ‘coughing’. I’ve been enjoying it so much, my ribs hurt… This evening I was going to hone a bit of flash fiction I’ve had going around in my head but hopefully instead I’ll shake off this bug with a long night’s sleep.

 

  1. February 13, 2011 at 12:24 am

    Oh, the crows were just cleaning up the road, a smorgasbord for them. Now, if they start flocking around you and there isn’t any roadkill laying about, or they start gently rapping on your door, then I’d start to worry.

    BTW: Mentioned you in my latest blog.

  2. February 13, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    Quite often in the countryside I see maybe half a dozen crows on the lookout for carrion (I can almost hear them thinking: is he still moving? Is he dead yet?) but this must have been a whole colony, in the late afternoon, going to roost. Or two colonies, possibly.

    I’ll watch out for any crows tapping on doors or windows! Though we do have a magpie in the garden regularly…

    Thanks for the mention, btw.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

