Home > cultural commentary, humor > Vampire fiction and training materials

Vampire fiction and training materials

I’ve had a bit of word-collision going on.

Yesterday I was writing a short vampire story. A vampire, in some older literature, is described as a revenant – a term Wikipedia defines as ‘a visible ghost or animated corpse that was believed to return from the grave to terrorize the living’. So it was a word I used quite a few times.

Today I was writing something about economic regeneration in local contexts, and the roles of relevant government departments and other agencies.

And the spellcheck, of course, didn’t pick up that I’d managed to include quite a lot of references to revenant government departments.

Hmmm…

  1. October 11, 2011 at 3:11 am

    My day job, is, um, in government. My passion is reading and writing horror, and although I enjoy vampires I tend to write slightly more about zombies – revenants in their own feisty way. I have not laughed so hard as I did when I read your reference to “revenant government departments.” So apt! Thank you for this, and keep cranking out the creepy tales! 🙂

  2. October 11, 2011 at 11:35 am

    LOL what’s the difference between a vampire and a politician anyway? Don’t they both talk gobbldigook and bleed us dry?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

