Home > cultural commentary > What insomnia teaches you

What insomnia teaches you

I’ve been having a spate of waking up at four in the morning, or alternatively not being able to get to sleep when I go to bed. As a result of which, I’ve been exposed to the late-night TV shopping channels. Again.

Presumably people buy stuff from these shows, otherwise they wouldn’t be running them. If they do, I’d guess their insomnia causes even more of a judgement deficit that mine does.

You can buy car cleaning accessories for around £40 on one channel. Assuming you want everything that’s in the package and bought the highest-end such products from a high-street car accessories shop like Halfords, say, you’d end up paying close to that kind of money. But if you bought their own-brand products or the cheaper end of the range you’d pay around half that.

And the bra-like vest thingy with its own programme that seems to run for around three hours at a time… around £40 from the TV shopping channel, but I saw in town yesterday it’s in the shops there at £7. And no, I don’t need one anyway…

  1. August 25, 2012 at 10:23 pm

    Oh, Jon. Theremare better things to do at four in the morning than watch the shopping channel. I used to deal with insomnia by reading, or even soaking in the bath, which sometimes could get me back off to sleep. Or play some gentle music. Or hatch another good story. Sleep well.

    • September 2, 2012 at 7:01 pm

      I know… It’s not like I’m really watching it, unless something crops up that’s really remarkable for its stupidity or price. And if I really think I won’t be able to go back to sleep I’ll switch to BBC News 24.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

